Watermelon Ice Pops

Last week, I had bought a small “personal” watermelon (that name cracked me up, like I was going to tape “Salad’s Watermelon” to the back of its shirt before it left for summer camp….ANYWAY); I was hoping for crisp, sweet watermelon, what I got was a slightly mealy, not so sweet watermelon. Sigh. Since the beau doesn’t eat watermelon, I wasn’t sure what to do with this (my method of getting rid of food I don’t like is to put it on his plate as a “treat” – fun!).

Enter thisĀ  recipe from How Sweet and this recipe from The Pioneer Woman (btw, if you’re not reading these blogs, you should be; GORGEOUS food pictures and hilarious content).

Deliciously inspired, I set out to make my own take on the Watermelon/Mint combo.
I had received these fun ice pop molds as a gift from my gorgeous friend, Krista and was excited to finally put them to use.

Watermelon Mint Ice Pops
4 cups watermelon, cut away from the rind and cubed (remove large black seeds, the small whitish ones are fine)
2 tbs mint leaves
3 tbs lime juice
2 tbs brown sugar
1 set of ice pop molds OR use an ice cube tray

Add all ingredients to food processor or blender).

Blend until liquified.

At this point, you can strain the juice through a fine-mesh strainer to have a pure watermelon juice; but I didn’t. I wanted some of the yummy, pulpy bits in there.
Transfer liquid to a pourable cup, and slowly fill each mold or ice-cube tray until full.

Put the lids on the pops and put them in the freezer overnight (or at least until frozen). While you’re waiting for the pops to freeze, enjoy the last bit of watermelon juice straight on its own…

After 24 hours….

You’ve got pops!

Cold, sweet and refreshingly delicious. Enjoy the ice pops on their own but if you also made an ice-cube tray, try these uses for the cubes….

…in a summer sangria
…with a splash of vodka and fresh lime juice
…added to a pitcher of ice water
…in a fruit smoothie in place of ice

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Watermelon Ice Pops

  1. Daisy says:

    these look amazing! must make asap!

  2. Jen says:

    You know….I have very similar popsicle makers from Target, and I made some pomegranite popsicles, but one of my popsicles was so darn frozen into that thing, that that stupid plastic popsicle stick broke in the mold. Now I can only make 3 popsicles, and I have that sad little empty popsicle hole.

    I love watermelon.

  3. I got some rather disappointing watermelon at the supermarket the other day. Instead of pitching it, I’m going to try this. thanks.

  4. I finally got around to making .. and blogging about your recipe, they came out great but I think I need to add more watermelon pulp next time: http://wp.me/pXO6C-Li

Leave a Reply

