What Do You Mean He Don’t Eat No Meat? Ok, I Make Lamb

Yet another “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” reference. What can I say; we like Greek!

Tuesday night, I did not roast a whole lamb on the lawn (sadly), but I did roast  some all-natural, locally sourced lamb chops on my handy charcoal grill.

Still worked!

As with other meats with this week, it was all about the marinade.

This is a rip off of my Mom’s delicious roast lamb marinade. I think I got all the goodies in it; but I’m sure she’ll chime in to tell me what I missed (if she can figure out how to leave on a comment on this here interweb – love you, Mom!)

Mediterranean Lamb Marinade 1/2 cup olive oil
3 tbs each fresh herbs: rosemary, thyme, oregano (roughly chopped)
6 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
2 lemons, juice and lemons
1  tbs each: Sea Salt, Cracked Pepper
1 or 1-1/2 lbs lamb chops (4 larger ones or six small ones)

In a large stainless steel bowl, combine seasonings and oil; add the lemon juice. Then quarter the lemons and throw them in. Stir to combine.  (Taste the marinade before adding the meat; adjust seasoning to your preference).

Add your chops. Allow to marinate for at least an hour (longer if you can) in the fridge. Flip over to ensure all the deliciousness is soaking in. You can also add the lamb and the marinade to a large, zip-top bag and put the whole thing in a bowl in the fridge if you prefer.
After an hour, you’re ready to grill. Lamb, like steak is a meat that can be eaten more rare, so grill to your desired temperature. Add the lemon quarters to the grill for aroma and flavoring if you wish.

(is this dodgy iphone pic making you feel like you’re there?)

After just a few minutes…..

 

…. dive in to this place of succulence. Herby, rich and lemony. Delightful. If you’re fearful of the gamey quality of lamb or have scarring mint jelly experiences; I urge you to try this marinade. It brings out everything delicious in a lamb chop.  I served this with mashed red bliss potatoes, green salad, Greek olives and the amazing CRAZY FETA from Miss How Sweet. It is outrageous; you MUST try it.All of it, tonight. Right now.

While you’re doing that, I’m off to find other My Big Fat Greek Wedding references to torture you with….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Do You Mean He Don’t Eat No Meat? Ok, I Make Lamb

  1. Cutie Patooty says:

    “Make it bigger” (answer to how is your hair)
    “Yes, inside the lump was my twin”
    ” Oh, woe is me. Since Taki is in the big dry cleaning store, I have no time to be with him”
    Mom, who is coming over? The family! (which she says while peeling 8 sacks of potatoes)
    “Ooompa!”
    Roddy and Harry.
    Dad exclaims “Get married, make babies!”
    gosh do I love that movie.
    Salad, I need an amazing whipped feta recipe please.

  2. Jen says:

    I love greek people. They name their kids things like “Foufy”.

    Lamb – I’m “eh” on that.

    Feta – I’m all in. Crazy Feta – even more in.

Leave a Reply

